5th December 2019
Bloomberg New Contemporaries opens at South London Gallery

Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2019 touring exhibition opens at South London Gallery (6 December 2019 – 23 February 2020). Celebrating the breadth of art practice emerging from the UK’s exceptional art schools and alternative education programmes, the exhibition provides an intriguing opportunity to see the next generation of contemporary artists who encapsulate the cultural zeitgeist.

Artists are selected from final year students studying fine arts or recent graduates of U.K. arts institutions – including those offering peer-to-peer learning alternatives to traditional undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses. The rigorous two-part selection process is headed by a panel of three internationally renowned artists (this year Rana Begum, Sonia Boyce and Ben Rivers) who have no knowledge of the applicant’s gender, age, nationality or education while reviewing submissions.

Since 1949, New Contemporaries has held a vital role in the UK’s contemporary art scene, illuminating for the first time a cross-section of the most internationally renowned artists of recent history including post-war figures Frank Auerbach and Paula Rego; pop artists Patrick Caulfield and David Hockney; new media pioneers Derek Jarman and Helen Chadwick; YBAs Damien Hirst and Gillian Wearing; alongside contemporary figures such as Tacita Dean, Mark Lecky, Mona Hatoum, Mike Nelson and Chris Ofili; and more recently a new generation of exceptional artists including Ed Atkins, Monster Chetwynd, Rachel Maclean and Laure Prouvost.

Selected artists for Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2019 are Jan Agha, Eleonora Agostini, Justin Apperley, Ismay Bright, Roland Carline, Liam Ashley Clark, Becca May Collins, Rafael Pérez Evans, Katharina Fitz, Samuel Fordham, Chris Gilvan-Cartwright, Gabriela Giroletti, Roei Greenberg, Elena Helfrecht, Mary Herbert, Laura Hindmarsh, Cyrus Hung, Yulia Iosilzon, Umi Ishihara, Alexei Alexander Izmaylov, Paul Jex, Eliot Lord, Annie Mackinnon, Renie Masters, Simone Mudde, Isobel Napier, Louis Blue Newby, Louiza Ntourou, Ryan Orme, Marijn Ottenhof, Jonas Pequeno, Emma Prempeh, Zoe Radford, Taylor Jack Smith, George Stamenov, Emily Stollery, Wilma Stone, Jack Sutherland, Xiuching Tsay, Alaena Turner, Klara Vith, Ben Walker, Ben Yau, Camille Yvert and Stefania Zocco.

For further information, please visit newcontemporaries.org.uk

Image Credit: Permanent Transit (2018) by Camille Yvert, one of the artists selected for the 2019 Bloomberg New Contemporaries exhibition. Image courtesy the artist and New Contemporaries